Team Page of:

Brooklyn Memorial Cup for Alzheimer's

Team Progress
of Goal
$2,715 Raised

Our Team Story

Welcome to YEAR 5!

The Brooklyn Memorial Cup for Alzheimer's is back for its fifth consecutive summer as it continues its mission of raising awareness and funds for Alzheimer's research.

This year, for the FIRST TIME in event history, the 9-inning softball game will be played at a PROFESSIONAL BASEBALL STADIUM.

The Brooklyn Cyclones are granting the Brooklyn Memorial Cup for Alzheimer's the use of their home stadium, Maimonides Park, in Coney Island, Brooklyn, NY.

The BK Nationals, (a team composed of Brooklyn community members), are four-time defending champions and are seeking to extend their dynastic run to an unprecedented five straight. Meanwhile, The BK Americans, (a team composed of Sports Media members), remain in search of their first ever championship.

At the end of the day one team will hoist The Lenny DiCristino Memorial Cup. And one player will distinguish him- or her-self as the Morton Blittner Game MVP. 

In addition, the legacy of The David Gross Advocacy Award will continue to be grown as it will again be given to an individual who does their part in the community to raise awareness for Alzheimer's research. 

And for the second straight year, we will be honoring the defensive player of the game with the Kathleen Denver Defensive Player of The Game Award. 

Please join us on Saturday August 5, 2023, for the game. (Field is located at: 1904 Surf Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11224).  

Opening Ceremonies: 11am sharp. (Includes the presentation of The David Gross Advocacy Award) 

First Pitch: 11:30am

Streaming Information:

Facebook Live:


If you cannot attend in person please tune into the broadcast to hear former NJ Devils/Tampa Bay Lightning Radio Play-by-Play broadcaster, Larry Hirsch bring you all the action. Hirsch will be joined by two Color Analysts: Ben Smith (Manhattanville College) and Will Jing (Fordham University). In addition, Fordham University’s Rilee Lucas will be the game’s Public Address Announcer.

Here are the rosters for the two teams:

BK Americans

No. 2 Jared Fertig

No. 4 Pete Caldera (Bergen Record/USA Today Yankees Beat Writer)

No. 5 Matthew Blittner (4x Hockey Author/Founder of The Brooklyn Memorial Cup for Alzheimer’s)

No. 6 Anthony McCarron (SNY)

No. 7 Arda Ocal (ESPN)

No. 9 Michael Obernauer (Co-Captain) (Formerly NY Daily News)

No. 11 Stefen Rosner (The Hockey News Islanders Beat Writer)

No. 12 Andrew Cano (Sportsology)

No. 20 Walt Bonné

No. 22 Erik Wlasiuk

No. 29 Rob Taub (

No. 37 Sam Sandler

No. 41 Russ Cohen (Co-Captain) (Sportsology)

No. 44 Brandon Dittmar

No. 56 Andrew Gross (Newsday Islanders Beat Writer)

No. 89 Joe Pantorno (amNewYork Sports Editor)

No. 94 Andrew Vasilatos (Coach) (Quantum Hockey Agency)

BK Nationals

No. 10 Tara Blittner

No. 13 Shawn Kontorov

No. 15 Bob Mills (Coach)

No. 17 Jackson Krupp

No. 18 Bob Denver

No. 19 Seth Blittner

No. 23 Jordan Sternhell

No. 24 Jason Russo

No. 26 Mike Weinberg

No. 31 Mike Taverna (Co-Captain)

No. 36 Rob DeVita (Co-Captain)

No. 50 Ashley Scharge

No. 55 Landon Goldfarb

No. 69 Daniel Greene

No. 91 Joe Soccoa

No. 92 Bret Fertig

No. 99 Jake Tawil

Previous Award Winners:

2019 Morton Blittner Game MVP: Jake Tawil (BK Nationals, No. 99)

2020 Morton Blittner Game MVP: Shawn Kontorov (BK Nationals, No. 13)

2021 Morton Blittner Game MVP: Jordan Sternhell (BK Nationals, No. 21)

2022 Morton Blittner Game MVP: Rob DeVita (BK Nationals, No. 36)

2022 Kathleen Denver Defensive Player of The Game: Jake Tawil (BK Nationals, No. 99)

2022 David Gross Advocacy Award: Jon Ledecky (Co-Owner NY Islanders, No. 1)

Captains who have lifted The Lenny DiCristino Memorial Cup:

2019: Doug Vitulli (BK Nationals, No. 27)

2020: Doug Vitulli (BK Nationals, No. 27)

2021: Rob DeVita (BK Nationals, No. 36)

2022: Rob DeVita (BK Nationals, No. 36)

Total funds raised each year:

2019: $2,347.00

2020: $1,355.00

2021: $3,457.00

2022: $7,000.00

Four-Year Total: $14,159.00

Game Social Media Pages:


Twitter: @BKMemorialCup

Instagram: @BKMemorialCup

Team Members

Indicates team captain

The Power of a Donation

The dollars you raise fuel the care, support and research efforts of the Alzheimer's Association.

Add your name to our donor list today!


Thanks to Our Donors!
Andrew Cano
Andrew Gross
Andrew Vasilatos
Anthony McCarron
Ashley Scharge
Ben Smith
Brandon Dittmar
Brandon Dittmar
Bret Fertig
Daniel Carubia
Daniel Greene
Daniel Greene
David Jolovitz
Erik Wlasiuk
Erik Wlasiuk
Frank Southwell
Jackson Krupp
Jake Tawil
Jared Fertig
Jason Russo
Joe Pantorno
Joseph Soccoa
Joseph Soccoa
Landon Goldfarb
Landon Goldfarb
Mark Fischer
Matthew Blittner
Matthew Blittner
Michael Obernauer
Michael Weinberg
Mike Taverna
Pete Caldera
Rob Taub
Robert Denver
Robert DeVita
Robert DeVita
Robert Mills
Russ Cohen
Sam Sandler
Seth and mandi blittner
Shawn Kontorov
Stefen Rosner
Stuart Honig
The Third Team on the Field

Search for a team member to donate


You can also

Make a Team Donation